What Continents Does The Equator Cross

What Continents Does The Equator Cross?

The equator passes through the continents of South America Africa and Asia.

How many continents have land along the Equator?

This geography fact also means that Africa is the only continent to have land both at the Equator and the Prime Meridian. These two maps show how the continent of Africa lies in both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres and the Western and Eastern Hemispheres.

What 3 countries are crossed by the Equator?

Q: The equator crosses which three South American nations? A: Ecuador Colombia and Brazil. It misses Peru’s northern tip by a few miles.

How many continents does the Equator cross from largest to smallest?

The equator crosses three continents the largest is Asia Africa and the smallest is South America.

Which continents does the Prime Meridian cross?

In the Northern Hemisphere the Prime Meridian passes through the UK France and Spain in Europe and Algeria Mali Burkina Faso Tongo and Ghana in Africa. The only landmass crossed by the Meridian in the Southern Hemisphere is Antarctica.

See also what gametes would an organism with the genotype bb produce

What are the only 2 continents totally north of the equator?

Answer and Explanation:

North American and Europe are the only two continents that are totally north of the Equator.

Which continents are not crossed by the equator?

Which continents are not crossed by the equator? North America Antarctica Australia Europe.

Is Africa crossed by the equator?

Equator Countries in Africa

There are six countries where the Equator crosses Africa. These are Gabon Congo Democratic Republic of Congo Uganda Kenya and Somalia.

Does the equator run through Mexico?

No the southernmost point in Mexico is at 14° 32 minutes 27 seconds North. The Equator is defined as 0° latitude.

Why can you balance an egg on a nail at the equator?

Balancing the egg

The theory goes that you can balance an egg on a nail on the equator but not anywhere else. … There’s no reason why balancing an egg at the equator should be any easier or harder than anywhere else.

Is Nigeria on the equator?

Nigeria is 690.93 mi (1 111.95 km) north of the equator so it is located in the northern hemisphere.

What continent is below Asia?

A continent is one of Earth’s seven main divisions of land. The continents are from largest to smallest: Asia Africa North America South America Antarctica Europe and Australia.

What continent is south of all of the continents?

Daily Geo Weeks 4-6
How many continents does the equator cross? What are those continents in order of of land area from largest to smallest? Three in order of size they are Asia Africa South America
Which continent is south of all other continents? Antarctica

Is Antarctica a continent?


Which continent is a desert?


Basically the entire continent of Antarctica is considered a desert because it gets very little precipitation.

What is the place where the equator and prime meridian meet?

Null Island
Null Island is an imaginary island located at 0°N 0°E (hence “Null”) in the South Atlantic Ocean. This point is where the Equator meets the Prime Meridian.Apr 22 2016

See also what does the word part anthro mean

What hemisphere are the 7 continents?

7 Continents in the Hemispheres
  • North America. Definition. Continent in the Northern & Western Hemisphere. …
  • South America. Definition. Continent in the Southern & Western Hemisphere. …
  • Africa. Definition. …
  • Australia. Definition. …
  • Asia. Definition. …
  • Europe. Definition. …
  • Antarctica. Definition.

What continent is below Australia?

With a total land area of 8.56 million square kilometres (3 310 000 sq mi) the Australian continent is the smallest lowest flattest and second-driest continent (after Antarctica) on Earth.

Australia (continent)
Area 8 600 000 km2 (3 300 000 sq mi) (7th)
Countries show 2
Dependencies show External (2) show Internal (3)

Which continent is south of the equator?


Australia and Antarctica are the two continents entirely to the south of the equator. The equator divides Earth into northern and southern hemispheres…

Which countries go through Equator?

The Equator passes through 13 countries: Ecuador Colombia Brazil Sao Tome & Principe Gabon Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo Uganda Kenya Somalia Maldives Indonesia and Kiribati.

How close is Hawaii to the equator?

How far is Hawaii from the equator and on what hemisphere is it? Hawaii is 1 374.87 mi (2 212.64 km) north of the equator so it is located in the northern hemisphere.

Is Ireland north of the equator?

Ireland is located in the northern and western hemispheres made known by the cardinal direction attached to each of the two GPS coordinates. Ireland is also found to the north of the equator.

Which city is closest to the equator?

Quito is the closest capital city to the equator. Quito’s altitude is listed at 2 820 m (9 250 ft).

What country is in the middle of the earth?

2003 calculation of the geographical centre of all land surfaces on Earth: İskilip Turkey. The geographical centre of Earth is the geometric centre of all land surfaces on Earth.

Which hemisphere is China in?


China is part of the northern and eastern hemispheres placing the country well above the equator.

How close is Singapore to the equator?

Singapore city-state located at the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula about 85 miles (137 kilometres) north of the Equator.

See also how far is antarctica from australia

Can I stand on the equator?

Visiting the Equator at Zero Latitude

The word ‘ecuador’ means ‘equator’ in Spanish – the invisible line of zero latitude passing through this small Andean country. The Middle of the World (Mitad del Mundo) where you can stand with one foot in the northern hemisphere and one foot in the southern hemisphere.

How does your weight change at the equator?

‘Centrifugal force’ due to the spinning lowers your body weight by about 0.4 per cent at the equator relative to its weight at the poles. The Earth’s spin also causes the planet to bulge so that at the equator you’re about 21km further from the Earth’s centre of gravity and so weigh around 0.1 per cent less.

What happens at equator?

It is halfway between the North Pole and the South Pole at 0 degrees latitude. An equator divides the planet into a Northern Hemisphere and a Southern Hemisphere. The Earth is widest at its Equator. … The Earth’s diameter is also wider at the Equator creating a phenomenon called an equatorial bulge.

What was Nigeria called before?

What was its name before Nigeria? The former name for Nigeria was the Royal Niger Company Territories. It does not sound like a country name at all! The name Nigeria was replaced and preserved up until today.

Is Egypt in the northern hemisphere?

Egypt is in the Northern Hemisphere. It has a hot and dry climate. The Nile River and the Suez Canal are Egypt’s major transportation arteries.

Is Africa a continent?


Equator Passes Through the Following Countries

What Is Equator? Explained | 13 Interesting Facts about Equator You Didn’t Know

Seven Continents Song

Why Do More Species Live Near the Equator?

Leave a Comment